France Holiday Havens - Holiday cottages to rent in Normandy Beautiful rural holiday house
                              for rent in
Normandy
Holiday cottages to rent in Normandy

Review on Home Away:  Extremely comfortable, well equipped and wonderful, tranquil country setting
"The holiday was great and your house is lovely. We were very fortunate with the weather, getting a little sun-burned on the Sunday and it not raining until our journey home on the Saturday......but most importantly was that the house was clean, modern inside, but full of character inside and out and we were never cold."
Jon G. (April 2017)

Review on Owners Direct:  Extremely comfortable, well equipped and wonderful, tranquil country setting
"We've stayed at La Belle Grange several times now at different times of the year and back again this summer. We love it ! It's a truly relaxing setting, with well appointed, stylish and generous accommodation. A perfect venue to take in as much or as little of the area's many attractions, wonderful food, culture and countryside. Highly recommended, private, perfect for enjoying alfresco dining or equally a stunning sunrise."
David D. (March 2017)

Review on Home Away:  Charming house Belle Grange
"We would like to thank you for having rented us your charming house Belle Grange from 20th to 23rd February 2017. Everything was perfect we had a great time. La Belle Grange is very nice clean and very well equipped. We hope to have the opportunity to return. Cordially,
Emmanuelle D(February 2017)"

Original review in French:  Un endroit chaleureux ou l on se sent comme à la maison
"Bonjour, nous tenions a vous remercier de nous avoir louer votre charmante maison Belle Grange du 20 au 23 Février 2017. Tout était parfait nous y avons passer un très agréable moment. La Belle Grange est très agréable propre et très bien équipé. Nous espérons avoir l'occasion d'y retourner."


Review on Home Away:  A warm welcoming house where one feels very much at home
"We were very happily surprised when we got to La Belle Grange. This converted barn is decorated very tastefully, three of the four bedrooms have their own en suite bathroom and in the property we found all the equipment that one needs. We were three separate couples and two children so everyone had their own space. The barn is in the countryside which is ideal for a restful break, yet at the same time it is near a supermarket to buy food ( only ten minutes away) and also near plenty of beautiful sites to visit ( Mont St Michel is only 40 minutes away ) . The owners reply very quickly to emails and the instructions we got on booking, about how to get to the barn were very long and very detailed which allowed us to find the place very easily. We will willingly come back here to this barn to make the most of the quietness and the warmth of La Belle Grange."

Original review in French:  Un endroit chaleureux ou l on se sent comme à la maison
"Nous avons été agréablement surpris en arrivant à la 'belle grange' . Le logement est décoré avec beaucoup de goût, trois des quatre chambres ont chacune leur salle de bains, nous y avons trouvé tout l équipement nécessaire. Nous étions trois couples plus deux enfants et chacun avait son espace . Le logement est dans la campagne, idéal pour un séjour reposant , à la fois près de supermarché pour les courses ( seulement 10mn ) et près de beaux sites à visiter ( Mont st Michel a 40 mn ) Les propriétaires répondent à nos échanges de mail très rapidement et Les explications reçus à la réservation pour accéder au logement semblent très longues mais finalement très bien détaillées et nous ont permises de trouver facilement. Nous y retournerons avec plaisir pour profiter du calme et de la chaleureuse 'belle grange'."
Audrey L. (October-November 2016)

Email feedback:  Fantastic family holiday
"Hi, we had an absolutely amazing week. The house was gorgeous and the children loved the garden. Thank you."
Dawn R. (October 2016)

Review on Owners Direct:  Fantastic family holiday
"We had a truly special week at La Belle Grange. The property was beautiful with so much character and perfect for our family of 5. The garden was fantastic with lots of space for the children to run around. The kids loved how close the cows came to see what was going on. We really appreciated that a paddling pool and a few beach toys were there to use as we could just relax on the property without having to go very far. We made good use of the local outdoor pool as well which really is just down the road but it doesn't open until 2pm. Just as a note, the small pool is free for under 5's but you pay to go into the bigger pools. We were very lucky that the weather was brilliant and made a few trips to Carolles beach which was actually a lovely drive to get to. The property was quite well equipped although could maybe do with some child friendly, plastic cups and bowls etc. Obviously not something that would stop me going back. Leading up to the holiday the owners were easy to get in touch with, great about answering questions and always replied to messages. I would definitely recommend it and hope to go back one day."
Natasha C. (August 2016)

Review on Trip Advisor:  A Great Place To Unwind - And To Be Active
"La Belle Grange is spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished. It's easy to get to from all of the western Channel ports. There's loads of room both inside and out. It's well positioned for lots of visits and activities. We had an active holiday with lots of walking in the woods nearby and plenty of cycling - the house is not far from the 'voie verte', a former railway line that's part of the Paris-Mont St Michel cycle route. (It's also a pleasant 15 minute ride in to Brécey to buy the daily croissants). It was a delight also to sit out on the deck at night looking at the stars - no light pollution here! The property sits in peaceful, green, rolling countryside where you can relax immediately. We'd go again."
Kate (July 2016)

Review on Home Away:  Peaceful and luxurious
"We have just returned from a lovely week at La Belle Grange. The weather was superb and the facilities excellent: tasteful and spacious accommodation and lovely grounds. We especially liked the large outside table where we managed to sit for every one of our meals. It was also well equipped for our two year old grand daughter. We have some great memories of the holiday and hope to be back next year."
Gill T. (July 2016)

Review on Home Away:  Great Active Days, Great Night Sky
"Six of us, (four adults, two children), have just returned from a really enjoyable week at La Belle Grange. Loads of room both inside and out. The house is well equipped and nicely furnished. We had a pretty 'green' holiday with lots of walking in the woods nearby and plenty of cycling - the house is not far from the 'voie verte', a former railway line that's part of the Paris-Mont St Michel cycle route. (It's also a pleasant 15 minute ride in to Brécey to buy the daily croissants). It was a delight also to sit out on the deck at night looking at the stars - no light pollution here! We recommend La BG highly."
Tim H. (July 2016)

Review on Home Away:  A Normandy Gem!
"The first impression of this substantial house is nothing to when you enter its cavernous interior! The combined living room/kitchen/diner is magnificent. Talk about open-plan living. With a vaulted ceiling and tremendous fire surround we just couldn't be anything but impressed. It's set up for a large family. Infact it demands it, with really well equipped bedrooms and a stately master, together with toilets, showers and a roll-top bath! It's practical too, with everything we needed and more, such as dishwasher and washing machine and a really large fridge/freezer. It was cool-ish when we were there which gave us the excuse to fire up that log-burner. It really is a delight and the warmth stays in the stonework all the next day.....superb. Of course, you go there because it's in the Normandy countryside and perfectly peaceful with farms, apple orchards and forest all around, but Avranches is only a few miles away and when we visited a lovely local market was in full swing. The Botanic Garden is a must see too. It isn't huge but there are interesting plants and trees to see and you can look out from the panoramique to gaze at Mont St Michel with the two rivers meandering through the coastal plain to join it. (I would avoid going to M St M. at weekends as it really is a tourist hotspot - the second best in France! So book it now and you won't regret the decision. And don't forget to take ALL the family and make use of that grand dining table - we did!"
Stewart G. (May 2016)

Review on Home Away:  Magnifique maison familiale
"Nous avons occupé cette grange rénovée avec goût durant une semaine. Tout était très propre. Son état est neuf, la vaisselle en porcelaine est de qualité et les ustensiles en grande quantité. Nous étions quatre adultes et un bébé. La grange est spacieuse et l'intimité de tous est préservée. L'environnement est beau et calme. Le village de Brecey est à trois minutes, idéal pour les courses. De plus, il se situe au milieu de plusieurs lieux d'intérêt comme le Mont Saint-Michel, le zoo de Champrepus, Saint-Malo, Granville....Les propriétaires sont très réactifs, charmants et sérieux. Nous avons rencontré les concierges qui le sont également. Nous conseillons cette location à tous nos amis et à tous ceux qui aiment le calme et les belles choses."

English translation:  Magnificent family holiday house
"We stayed in this tastefully renovated barn for a week. Everything was very clean and new. The (porcelain) crockery is high quality and there is plenty of kitchen equipment. There were four of us, all adults and a baby. The barn is spacious, so everyone's privacy is respected. The immediate surrounding area is calm and quiet. Brécey village is three minutes away, which is ideal for shopping for provisions. To top it all, the barn is close to plenty of interesting places to visit, such as Mont St. Michel, the Champrepus Zoo, St Malo, Granville …..etc. The owners reply quickly to any queries, and they are helpful and professional. The above can be said too of the caretakers whom we met. We recommend this property to all our friends and to anyone who loves quiet and (appreciates) beautiful things."
(April 2016)

Review on Home Away:  Agréable maison au calme dans la campagne normande
"Nous avons passé une très agréable semaine dans cette belle maison, bien restaurée, grande, confortable et bien équipée (même si, à mon avis, il manque une cafetière électrique et un soufflet pour pouvoir utiliser correctement le poèle). La région est sympa. Il est possible de faire de jolies promenades sur les petites routes au départ de la maison mais aussi de visiter Mortain, les plages du Débarquement ou le Mont St Michel en partant à la journée... Je recommande cette location! "

English translation:  Lovely house in the peaceful Normandy countryside
"We spent a really nice week in this lovely house, which is well restored, large, comfortable and well equipped (even if there isn’t an electric coffee maker and a bellows to use the wood burning stove properly.!) The area is lovely. It is possible to do pretty little walks straight from the house along minor roads. On a day trip you can go to Mortain, the beaches where the allied troops landed at the end of World War 2, or Mont St Michel. I recommend La Belle Grange!"
Géraldine (February 2016)

Review on Home Away:  Séjour incroyable
"Nous avons séjourné avec 6 amis à La Belle Grange et nous avons été stupéfaits par la beauté et la modernité du lieu. La grande pièce à vivre est chaleureuse et conviviale, parfaite pour se détendre et prendre les repas. Nous y sommes allé en Janvier et le poêle à bois (avec buches fournies) fut la cerise sur la gâteau. Un grand merci pour l'accueil et la disponibilité du gardien des lieux qui est très sympathique et discret. Expérience à renouveler au plus vite, peut être en été cette fois ? Je recommande cette location de tout coeur !"

English translation: Incredible experience
"We stayed in La Belle Grange with six (of our) friends and we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place and the modernity of the recent refurbishment. The large living room is warm and convivial, perfect for relaxing and having meals. We went in January and the wood burning stove (with logs supplied ) was the icing on the cake. Thank you so much for having us and for the availability of the caretaker who was very helpful and unobtrusive. Staying here was an experience to be had again – maybe in the summer next time? I heartily recommend La Belle Grange."
Sophia M. (January 2016)

Review on Home Away:  The perfect place to stay
"Having stayed in a number of Gite's across Normandy & Bretagne we found La Belle Grange to be the perfect place to stay. We were there over the festive period for 10 days and the location & facilities were brilliant. The huge log burner was a real winner along with the open planned living area. The Location was close to lots of places of interest (including our favourite Le Mont Saint Michel) but was rural enough to come away from the busyness & enjoy the scenery and quiet. Brecey itself was beautiful especially with the Xmas lights & the village people were very warm & welcoming. Nice bars and a relaxed atmosphere. The centre was easily walkable and services accessible. The gite was well furnished and really comfy, we'll be looking to rebook."
Helen T. (December 2015)

Review on Home Away:  Great atmosphere
"Our first impression was the great atmosphere created at La belle Grange. Oak beams, minstrel gallery.. its high ceilings, hand crafted staircase and wood fired stove with its comfortable sofas made it is a perfect place to relax on vacation The barn has been recently converted and equipped to a standard throughout that more than met our expectations. The silence of this woodland location and the starlit nights was particularly captivating for us."
Vince from UK (September 2015)

Review on Trip Advisor:  Impressed
"We arrived in Normandy on a sunny afternoon and drove straight to our home for the next two weeks, La Belle Grange. The drive took us through delightful French villages, vast open countryside and farmland framed by a sweeping blue sky. The land surrounding La Belle Grange showed off apple and pear trees with fruit ready for the picking. Once inside the recently converted barn we were impressed by the high oak beamed ceiling, spacious open plan living and dining space and tasteful décor."
BB from UK (September 2015)

Email feedback:  Very much enjoyed our stay
"Just a quick email to say we loved La Belle Grange, we very much enjoyed our stay. It was very beautiful. ..the weather was delightful and the cows came to say hi often too."
JB from UK (August 2015)